Coping With Humans When You Haven’t Had The Time To Watch Sherlock

So its been like half a month since Sherlock series 4 came out and at least 8 different people have asked me if I’ve watched it or not. Followed by OHMYGOD ARE YOU SERIOUS HOW COULD YOU?!?

Because OHMYGOD I’ve had really long workdays and I have also been hit by what I assume is winter-induced-body-giving-up-in-despair disease.

sherlock

But apparently neither of those are valid enough reasons to miss Sherlock. So I’ve drafted a mini survival guide for when the fanbois hit you with the Sherlock-shaming. Please let me know if its effective.

  • Try to avoid interacting with people. If you’re working, this is the perfect time to take the week-long vacation you’ve been fantasizing about forever.
  • If that’s not possible, try to change your appearance in a way that people are unable to recognize you. Possible ways to do this include (but are not limited to) wearing a mask in socialization hotspots, getting a huge fringe, wearing some extreme makeup, etc.
  • Lie that you’ve seen it and have a conversation about it in generic phrases. For example when someone asks you if you saw that particular scene where ____ happens, say stuff like “yeah dude it was the best!” or “man my mind was blown then!” or “classic Sherlock, dude” or “I’m still getting goosebumps just thinking about it. Seeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee?”
  • Fake a brain stroke when someone tries to ask you about it. See below for bonus GIF of Watson giving a demonstration.

watson

  • Point a gun at them and say “Would be fun to watch Sherlock solve this one, wouldn’t it?”

This list is by no means exhaustive. There are hundreds of more ways to handle the most stressful situation of the year yet.

Note: The real reason for writing this post was that people know my stand on this sensitive topic before even initiating that conversation. But then this gold GIF I found made me realize that it might not even help.

blog-sherlock

What a perfect way to conclude a post that displays my mild obsession with GIFS and with self(blog)-deprecating humor. Now go watch Sherlock.

Leave a Reply

